US Grocery Deals Watch: This Week's Best Supermarket Deals

US weekly ads do not share one calendar. Most chains covering October 19, 2026 run October 14 to 20; Publix runs October 15 to 21, Stop & Shop October 16 to 22, and Target October 18 to 24. Every deal below names its store, its dates, and its conditions.

Deal sources: the chains' weekly ads as reproduced and summarized by deal trackers (aldiweekly.com for the Aldi ad, Southern Savers for Kroger and Target, Stumptown Savings for Albertsons, Safeway, and Fred Meyer, Wisconsin Consumer for Meijer, Hip2Save and iHeartPublix for Publix, iHeartStopAndShop for Stop & Shop). Prices were checked on October 19, 2026. Regional editions differ: the Albertsons and Safeway prices are from a Portland, Oregon roundup and the Meijer prices from a Wisconsin store list.

Two honest gaps: Walmart's grocery ad for October 17 to 23, 2026 exists but is published as page images, so no Walmart prices could be extracted or verified, and no Walmart deals appear below. H-E-B's current coupons are mostly buy-one-get-one offers without base prices, so no priced H-E-B staple deals could be verified either.

Stock up: the strongest deals this week

Chicken breast at $1.99 a pound, twice over. Aldi's ad (October 14 to 20) has fresh family pack chicken breasts at $1.99 a pound, and Kroger's ad (same dates) has Heritage Farm boneless chicken breast at $1.99 a pound, also listed at Fred Meyer. Regular prices we verified this week run $3.49 to $3.99 a pound, so this is close to half price. Chicken freezes well. Verdict: stock up.

Ground beef at $3.99 a pound at Albertsons and Safeway (October 14 to 20), for Signature Select 80/20 in value packs, with a digital coupon, limit 2. Compare H-E-B's regular $5.99 a pound and Target's $7.39. Verdict: stock up if your store honors the digital coupon, and note the limit.

Gallon milk at $2.49 at Kroger (limit 5), but only Saturday to Monday, October 17 to 19, and listed for the Southeast region. Fred Meyer, a Kroger banner, runs gallons at $2.79 Saturday to Monday, limit 2. Regular gallon prices we verified run $2.99 to $3.86. Verdict: a genuine deal if your region and your weekend line up.

Aldi produce (October 14 to 20): avocados at $0.55 each, Gala apples in a 3 lb bag at $1.99, and Baby Bella mushrooms, 8 oz, at $0.99. Verdict: buy what you will use this week; avocados at 55 cents do not need a plan, they need a bag.

Meijer produce (October 14 to 20): russet potatoes in a 5 lb bag at $2.49 and yellow onions in a 3 lb bag at $2.49. Both beat the regular prices we verified at Target ($2.99 each) and H-E-B ($2.97 and $2.82). Verdict: stock up; both keep for weeks in a cool spot.

Good prices if you are there anyway

Kroger eggs: Simple Truth large cage free eggs, 24 count, at $5.49 (October 14 to 20). That is about $2.75 a dozen for a cage free product, while basic dozens run $1.49 to $1.67 regular at Target and H-E-B. A good price for the product, not a reason to switch your basic dozen.

Kroger coffee: Starbucks coffee bags or K-Cups, 10 to 12 oz or 10 count, at $7.99 (October 14 to 20), under the $8.98 to $8.99 store brand 12 oz prices we verified. Worth it if Starbucks is your brand.

Albertsons and Safeway cheese: Tillamook packages, 5 to 8 oz, at $1.99 (October 14 to 20), in line with the $1.89 to $1.98 store brand blocks we verified, for a name brand. Also at Safeway: Darigold butter, 1 lb, at $3.49 with a digital coupon, which beats every 8 oz price we verified this week.

Publix (October 15 to 21): Jennie-O ground turkey, 16 oz, buy one get one free at $6.99, so $3.49 each where true BOGO applies. In some states Publix BOGO means a single item at half price, which is the same math per package. A solid turkey price either way.

Target (October 18 to 24): Chobani single-serve Greek yogurt, 5.3 oz, at $1 each when you buy 6. That is about 19 cents an ounce, against about 10 cents an ounce for a 32 oz tub at regular price. Fine for lunches and variety; the tub is still cheaper per ounce.

Stop & Shop (October 16 to 22): tote bag apples at $1 a pound. Simple, no conditions we could see, and a fair fall price.

Read the fine print

Kroger's Mega Event prices require buying 5 or more participating items for the instant savings. Barilla Protein Pasta at $1.79 and Prego pasta sauce at $1.49 are Mega Event prices (October 14 to 20), not shelf prices. They are good deals if your cart naturally reaches five items, and a reason to buy things you do not need if it does not.

Kroger's Nature's Own Honey Wheat bread, 20 oz, is listed at $2.99 in the Mega Event. That is a name brand loaf, but store brand 20 oz loaves verified this week cost $0.98 at H-E-B and $1.69 at Target. Our verdict: skip, unless that specific loaf is your household standard.

Meijer's Sargento cheese at $1.99 (October 14 to 20) is a Buy 5 Save $5 item, so the $1.99 assumes four other participating items in the cart. Eggland's Best eggs at $2.79 at Meijer carry the same Buy5 condition, and the listing does not state the count, so we do not compare it per dozen.

Digital coupons are doing real work this week: the Safeway ground beef and Darigold butter prices both require clipping the digital coupon first. If the coupon is not on your account before checkout, the deal does not exist.

How we check deals

We open the current ad for each chain, or a dated deal list that reproduces it, and record the price, size, dates, and conditions as printed. If a source does not state a size or a condition, we say so instead of assuming. Grocery ads are regional: the same chain can run different prices in different states in the same week, so check your local edition before a special trip.

Regular price comparisons in the verdicts come from our US Staple Grocery Price Tracker, checked the same day, so a deal is always judged against a verified regular price and not against the ad's own claimed savings.

Deals are only savings if they replace a purchase you were going to make. Grocery Spending Tracker shows what you actually paid per item across your own receipts, so next week's ad can be judged against your prices, not the store's. Start free with 5 scans a month.